Do you measure up?

mr-bigWhat do women want in men? According to a new online dating site, it’s euphemisms! Or rather, men who are “above average in their manhood.” Yes, just when you thought niche dating sites couldn’t get any weirder (MimePassions.com, SingleNudist.com, IBS Singles – need I say more?), along comes 7orbetter.com, a dating site where “size matters.”

The site, which is free, is operated by an outfit called New Life Ventures Inc., which also runs SugarDaddie.com, a site “where the classy, attractive and affluent meet.” 

Hmmm, I’m sensing a theme here. And it’s not Lara’s Song, that uber-romantic melody from Dr.  Zhivago.

So why does this site exist? Because apparently women just can’t come out and ask a guy his dick size at dinner. “For men interested in women, it is quite easy to see if the woman’s breast size is to his liking or not, or even the shape and size of her derriere,” the website tells us. “Unfortunately, because of how society is, it is very inappropriate to ask a man immediately how big his penis is or even if he is uncircumcised or not. A properly behaved woman that is respectful would never ask such a question.”

Thanks to 7orbetter, though, a properly behaved woman — or man (the site is open to gays, too) – can now surf around their website until they find a “perfect match.”  What a relief for singles everywhere!  No more wasting “days, weeks or maybe months” only to be “disappointed with what they find.” As the site puts it, “No more wasted time, no more guessing, hoping or praying that the guy has what it takes to please you.”

I’m still up in the air (so to speak) as to whether this site is an incredibly clever send-up of society’s increasingly shallow nature (and/or that whole male insecurity thing) or whether it’s the real meal deal. I’ve surfed around and it looks legit, but I haven’t joined so I can’t say that I’ve checked out any of the “members.” Speaking of which, the nature of the site makes for some pretty interesting terms and conditions. My favorite passage is on “member disputes” and how 7orbetter.com is not liable for any issues that may “arise between members.”

What can I say? 7orbetter makes me act 9 or worse.

7 Responses to “Do you measure up?”


  1. 1 lqs101 April 22, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Oh my. I salute you (oh god, it’s impossible to NOT make a double entendre!) for researching all of this for the rest of us. IBS Singles? I’ve had my share of woes in that area, so I do not mock the people who have it, but the site seriously needs to work on its copy: “Share bad experiences like if you ever had Braces on your teeth or if you ever broke an arm or leg and had a cast on it.”?

  2. 2 Jennifer Roland April 22, 2009 at 11:23 am

    I heard about this site on Cosmo Radio last week. 7orbeter makes it seem as if they are hoping for a day when it is acceptable to ask some guys dick size on the first date. Do you wait until you’ve at least gotten a nice meal out of it, or do you just throw it out there before you waste any time on a short dick man?

  3. 3 onely April 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Wow, they’re right–men *can* make an assessment (albeit a superficial one) about whether a woman is to their liking based on the outward appearance of her sex characteristics–but women can’t do the same. I never thought of that. Maybe because I’m not a man and not supposedly “visual” as they all claim to be.

    Christina

  4. 4 singleshot1 April 22, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Great points, everybody. I just find it weird that anybody would put a site like this together. Dick size is not my big burning question when I go out with someone for the first time. It’s more like, ‘Hmm, is this guy smart? Is he funny? Does he pay attention to what’s going on in the world? Is he the same guy I saw on America’s Most Wanted the other night?’ Also, get out your tape measure. 7 inches plus is pretty freaking substantial. Maybe I’m overly practical, but I’d think half the women on the site would have chronic UTIs.

  5. 6 Singlutionary April 22, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    My roommate was saying yesterday morning that it should be listed with a guy’s vital stats on match.com.

    Relationships: never married
    Have Kids: none
    Want Kids: not sure
    Ethnicity: white/caucasian
    Height: 6’3″
    Penis size: 7.25″
    Religion: other
    Smoke: no way
    Drink: socially

  6. 7 Special K April 23, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I wrote a few posts ago about lists…and currently are against them. Attraction for me is a HUGE factor. With romantic partners and friends, even. And part of that is physical…until that first impression wears off, around 90 seconds research has shown. I believe that while I may have types that turn me on…I am more ready to to have traits that turn me off….


Leave a Reply

What’s the story?

Meet Diane Mapes, your friendly neighborhood freelance writer. My beats include health (with an emphasis on cancer prevention, treatment and survivorship) and lifestyle and singles issues, but I also love writing about history, natural history, pop culture and TV/film. On this site, you'll find links to stories, praise for my writing (*blush*) and the odd bit of social commentary about the single life. Also here, a few shameless plugs for my books (hint: see links below). Have fun, glad you're here and hope to hear from you soon.

Oh! And if you're looking for my breast cancer blog, go to Double_Whammied

Check out my books!

How to Date in a Post-Dating World A dating manual for the modern, mangled single.

Single State of the Union
Single women speak out on life, love and the pursuit of happiness.

Follow me on Twitter!

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

