Love in the time of collection agencies

how-to-date-cover2how-not-to-date-cover1A couple of weeks back, I was asked to team up with Seattle Weekly Dategirl columnist Judy McGuire (author of How Not to Date) for a cheeky do’s and don’ts column about dating during the recession, a request that makes much more sense if you know that I’m the author of How to Date (in a Post-Dating World). 

Our books were both published by Sasquatch Books here in Seattle and as you can see, they make a lovely matched set. We’re sort of the twins of the dating book beat, except Judy gets to be the fun overtly evil twin. And I get to be the fun secretly evil twin. ; ) Anyway, our tag-team interview went live this week on Flavorwire. Here’s a snippet. Check out the full interview here.

Since I lost my job all I do is sit around the apartment in my skivvies with a beer and a bowl of corn chips! What do I do?
Diane:
I don’t understand. Is sitting around in your underpants and drinking all day a problem? Seriously, if you don’t feel like dating, don’t date. But you definitely want to take care of yourself and not fall into a dark pit of self-pity and despair. If nothing else, get together with your buddies for beer and corn chips, but do wear pants!
Judy:
Mmm, greasy, broke and drunk — Judy likey!

 

Speaking of dating during the recession, here’s a link to a Single Shot column I wrote for the Seattle P-I a few months back titled “How to be a cheap date.”  Unfortunately, we can all still use tips on how to find love in the time of collection agencies. Feel free to send me yours!

0 Responses to “Love in the time of collection agencies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What’s the story?

Meet Diane Mapes, your friendly neighborhood freelance writer. My beats include health (with an emphasis on cancer prevention, treatment and survivorship) and lifestyle and singles issues, but I also love writing about history, natural history, pop culture and TV/film. On this site, you'll find links to stories, praise for my writing (*blush*) and the odd bit of social commentary about the single life. Also here, a few shameless plugs for my books (hint: see links below). Have fun, glad you're here and hope to hear from you soon.

Oh! And if you're looking for my breast cancer blog, go to Double_Whammied

Check out my books!

How to Date in a Post-Dating World A dating manual for the modern, mangled single.

Single State of the Union
Single women speak out on life, love and the pursuit of happiness.

Follow me on Twitter!

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

