Here’s the scoop …

Welcome to my official online emporium. I’m Diane Mapes, a Pacific Northwest native and fulltime freelance writer.

Some of you may know me from my Single Shot columns in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. Others may know my byline from MSNBC.com, CNN.com, The Seattle Times, or any number of other publications, local and national. Incredibly, I’ve amassed about 200 published clips in the last few years. And two books.  No wonder my fingers are killing me! 

Most recently, I’ve been covering the health, lifestyle and singles “beat,” writing about everything from compulsive hoarding to hot-or-not dating sites, spelunking to singles’ rights, embalming to uncombable hair syndrome (check out the Clips section for links).

Like most writers, though, I’m versatile.  I also do a fair amount of copywriting.  And I teach, too, primarily on how to break into publishing. My classes are usually held up at Richard Hugo House; I also offer one-on-one private coaching by arrangement.

Don’t know that this site is going to be a blog in the traditional sense. But I will be posting links to new stories, throwing out the occasional bit of social commentary and perhaps talking about some of the topics I’m currently writing about. Like cutaneous horns, for instance, which grow on people. And not just on their heads but everywhere you can imagine. Yes, there, too.

I’ll post the link when the piece goes live. In the meantime, let me know if you’ve got a story that needs telling. It’s sort of what I live for.

3 Responses to “Here’s the scoop …”


  1. 1 michelle goodman March 3, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Love the new site, Diane! I’m green with envy!

  2. 2 John Levesque March 3, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    So tasteful. So elegant. So Mapes-esque.

  3. 3 Mark Matassa March 6, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Excellent idea! Is that singe shot, or singles hot?

    Whichever, I’m glad to see you exist in the webosphere and look forward to reading more of your great work. Rock on.


Leave a Reply

What’s the story?

Meet Diane Mapes, your friendly neighborhood freelance writer. My beats include health (with an emphasis on cancer prevention, treatment and survivorship) and lifestyle and singles issues, but I also love writing about history, natural history, pop culture and TV/film. On this site, you'll find links to stories, praise for my writing (*blush*) and the odd bit of social commentary about the single life. Also here, a few shameless plugs for my books (hint: see links below). Have fun, glad you're here and hope to hear from you soon.

Oh! And if you're looking for my breast cancer blog, go to Double_Whammied

Check out my books!

How to Date in a Post-Dating World A dating manual for the modern, mangled single.

Single State of the Union
Single women speak out on life, love and the pursuit of happiness.

Follow me on Twitter!

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

